Skip to content | Change text size


Distinguished Award for Economics Professor

Professor Yew-Kwang Ng from the Department of Economics has been recognised as a Distinguished Fellow of the Economic Society of Australia.

Professor Ng was recognised for his contributions to the development of economics and in particular welfare economics, mesoeconomics and inframarginal economics. Professor Ng has also made significant contributions in happiness and environmental economics.

This award is the highest recognition that the Economic Society of Australia bestows and it is reserved for its most accomplished and distinguished members. Only one award (or no award) is made in any one year.

The Distinguished Fellow Award for 2007 was presented to Professor Ng at the Society's annual dinner recently held in Hobart.

The Economic Society of Australia was founded in 1925, making it one of the oldest professional associations in Australia.

The main objectives of the Society are to encourage the teaching, study and application of economics and related disciplines in Australia and to encourage the research and public debate of economic questions.

The Society also strives to publish high-quality economic journals and encourage the employment of economists and promote the standing of their profession in the Australian community.